About Holden & Mickey

Holden & Mickey’s professionals bring to client service four generations of experience in financial services. They advise clients on insurance and investment strategies that work best for helping to achieve specific goals. They also use their relationships and leverage with a range of service providers for the benefit of clients. In addition, the Holden & Mickey support team has garnered almost 75 years of combined experience assisting clients.

Wholly owned by Chip Holden and John Mickey, Holden & Mickey can make decisions independent of any large corporate interests. Rather, Holden & Mickey uses its relationships with large companies to provide clients a range of strategies, depending on the client’s needs.

A Tradition of Service to Clients Since 1930

Holden & Mickey’s roots date to 1930 when Edward T. Mickey, a descendant of the early founders of Salem, NC, first advised clients on insurance needs. Joe Mickey, John’s father continued that tradition of service and trust then invited John to join the business. In 1989, Lawrence N. (Chip) Holden, who had 16 years of financial services experience, joined Joe & John and added his name to the firm. 

Having led the firm for the past 20+ years, John Mickey and Chip Holden welcomed to the firm David Holden in 2003, Steven Davis in 2012, and Brian Holden in 2013 after they had fulfilled the firm’s requirement of three successful years with another financial services organization. As the fourth generation to work for the firm, these professionals bring additional investment and insurance experience to Holden & Mickey, ensuring continuity of excellent service for all clients.


The Old Salem Coffee Pot

Holden & Mickey selected the Mickey Coffee Pot as part of the new logo because John Mickey is a descendant of the original creators. The Moravian tinsmiths, Samuel and Julius Mickey, built the famous coffee pot in 1858 as an advertisement for their business. Originally located at the intersection of South Main and Belews Streets in Salem, the coffee pot was moved to its current site at South Main Street and Old Salem Bypass when Business 40 was constructed in the 1950s.

Many legends have developed about the distinctive seven-foot pot. One such tale holds that a Yankee soldier hid in the pot to avoid Confederate soldiers during the War Between the States.